A Dragon in Sheep’s Clothing

Thoughts from a web designer, writer and cat lover.

A Dragon in Sheep’s Clothing header image 1

I am tired of scammers!

Posted by Heidi on March 19th, 2009 · View Comments

In response to another job inquiry I sent to a Craigslist ad, I have received yet another fishy email trying to get me to sign up for crap and reveal my personal information.

I sent an email in response to the ad “Assembly / Shipping Clerk” listed in my city.

Here is the response I was emailed:

From: “Sarah Leadley” <hendersonpublishing@googlemail.com>
Subject: Henderson Publishing Job Application (second stage) Re: Assembly / Shipping Clerk

Thank you for taking the time to reply to our job
opening here at Henderson Publishing. We are pleased to tell you that
you have been selected into the final screening process

This job will be a rewarding and profitable career choice and we offer
our employees the best salary and health packages available. We
believe a happy worker is the key to a growth oriented company.

As part of our routine background check on all employees we require
all applicants who have reached this stage to do a routine credit
check to verify your details.

This check is toally free to yourself and all details are totally
confidential.
Please note: We can not and will not use any bad credit to deny your
application (your credit is not important to us), this is simply to
verify your past employment history.

To get your free credit report we suggest using this provider
[url deleted]

Once you have received your report please send it along with your
current cv to our human resources department
hrdept@hendersonpublishing.com

Once again thanks for your interest in the position, we look forward
to working with you in the near future.

Sarah Leadley (H.R Manager)

The url that was deleted… guess where it sent me? A one-stop page where you can sign up to get a free credit report — WITH a “free” 7 day trial of their credit monitoring service. I’m not even sure whether this job poster is getting kick-backs for people who sign up, or if this is an out-and-out phishing scam to collect social security numbers and addresses.

The red flags:

  1. If they need credit info, legitimate companies ask you to sign a release so they can perform a credit check.
  2. The credit report sign-up page is titled “New Page 2.”
  3. The website hendersonpublishing.com (from the HR email address) redirects to a medical news web site.
  4. The email address of the sender is a Gmail account, not the supposed company’s domain name.
  5. An email to the HR address bounced back with the error “No such recipient.”

It’s absolutely infuriating to get these scams and phishing emails when you’re really looking for a job. And what makes it worse is that there are a lot of people who needs jobs or second jobs these days, and these #%$!* are preying upon their needs!

I just wanted to post this one here so it will show up in search results. When I did a quick Google look today, there were no mentions of a scam with the name Henderson Publishing.

Be careful out there peeps!

Tags: Day Job · Internet · Rants

  • Susan

    I, too, received the same response in craig’s list for a humans resource asst.

    Really aggravating , when you are looking for the real thing.

  • amanda

    I got the same e-mail back from them. I answered and said it was bs. As of now it hasn’t bounced back but….

  • Ashleigh

    I got the same one and it is a load of bs so i hope if you are reading this you got to this page before you signed up you personal info.

blog comments powered by Disqus